I Track Eye Tracking.

by Joe

As the title clearly states, I have used the powers of OpenCV to make some eye tracking happen in real time. I then used it to make a VERY rough estimate of the gaze location.

So I open up a stream from the webcam, and then draw around the general eye area. This then remains fixed in space and does not move. The eyes are then located using my method. When the person is looking at the center of the screen, a button is pressed and this initialises the initial eye position. From then I just calculated the approximate eye displacement, and used the proportion displaced to relate to the proportion of the screen that the gaze had travelled. Please note that this is the most inaccurate thing ever, and will be fixed as soon as I have the time and motivation. Ok I lied, its not the very biggest problem…

The fact that the box around the eye area does not move is the BIGGEST problem! This means that if your head moves at all, the computer wont know that it was your head and not your eye. and it is very easy for your head to twitch by the radius of your eye. I will fix this using the power of template matching. Maybe. I still need to experiment. My plan is to take the initial box around the eye area, and use it as a template, and make it stay fixed on the face, rather than the webcam image. If that makes sense.

Once the eye box is fixed on the face, we can use that to tell us how the face moves, and the eye positions to tell us how the eyes move, and then all we need is some tasty maths!

Here is a video of my work so far…

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5v9S9zfnE8k&feature=plcp

There are 3 different sensitivity levels in this.

